DSmaps to go open source(-ish)

I’ve decided that I’m just way too busy with everything else in my life to do justice to DSmaps. The main difficulty, if I’m completely honest about it, is that because my day job involves writing a lot of code, the last thing I want to do in my spare time is write more code. I’ve also got a young family and a very time consuming sporting interest.

The obvious solution therefore is to let others take the reins. However, I’ve never been involved in the delivery end of an open source project before so I’m looking for suggestions on how best to do this. In the interests of QA I’d ideally like to maintain some sort of ‘editorial control’ over the project – even this is just to control the domain name and this blog. Please shout with your thoughts…

9 Responses to DSmaps to go open source(-ish)

  1. Kevin says:

    That’s a pity, although I know the feeling.

    Perhaps the glaringly obvious answer here is Sourceforge, and there are a few DS projects on there that seem to be reasonably active. I guess you’ve already considered this though, so it would be interesting to know what your reasons are, if any, for hesitating.

    From my experience, open source projects do need a person or fairly cohesive group with a vision to keep it going and drive it forward, so you may well find that you will need to exert some influence to help keep things on track.

    Whatever way you decide to go, it would be a real shame if all the work you had put in was to just waste away in limbo. Please publish the source in some form, just so that it gets a chance to develop – It would at least give others the opportunity to nudge DSmaps along incrementally.

    DSmaps is a fantastic proof of concept that shows real potential for the platform, and I for one would really love to get a chance to tinker with it. I’ve gone so far as to write a .bat file which uses wget to download tiles for preloading, so it has definitely piqued my interest in this direction.

  2. It’s unfortunate for you that you don’t think you’ll have time to work on this but I really hope it’s a good thing for the project. Obviously you can go with sourceforge.net or code.google.com but I think the most important thing is to put the code out for now. You can still use this site to centralise things but if you put the code out there you can see what real interest there is in the project. I imagine to start with things will be quite manageable. When it gets more complicated you can look at other options.

  3. hillbilly says:

    I am very, very intrigued with this project and for many months, I squandered over how this project was done. I had always wanted to incorporate this project into mine (iPhone clone for the DS) but never dreamed of coding it myself because I know very little about the DS’s WIFI parsing/capability. If you are interested, please feel free to contact me at hillbilly_palib@yahoo.com Thanks for your time.

  4. Hillbilly says:

    Hello! This is a great project! If this ever goes open-source, I would be interested in using this in my project, and iPhone clone for the DS. If you are interested, please contact me at hillbilly_palib(at)yahoo(dot)com. Thanks a-lot for your time.

  5. masterlilou says:

    Merge Dsmap into combox ? why not ? just for fun

    What do you think ?

  6. Falafel says:

    Hmm, You don’t seem to come online often.. But well, If you really want to go opensourcish just post the code here. Honestly, I really like the program as it is. But I just want to change a few things and it would be wonderful to do it myself.

  7. moof says:

    I second the suggestion for SourceForge; however, there are a few things that’d be necessary first.

    1) What’s the license for the code? GPL, BSD, a combination due to the code that’s been already used? (The latter is actually rather common, and nothing to worry about.)

    2) Have you had the source under revision control? If so, you might be able to import the entire thing into a CVS/Subversion/etc repository with changes intact.

    3) As far as the domain name and blog go – even if you host the source on SourceForge (or elsewhere), by no means does that imply that you’d have to give up the domain or anything like that! In fact, the majority of the active projects on SourceForge have their actual “project pages” located elsewhere, with SF being the repo for sources, bug tracking, etc. I don’t think you’d need to worry about editorial control.

    I, too, do code-like stuff for a living; I’m a NetBSD developer (in my copious spare time), and all sorts of other geeky crap. If you have questions or anything like that, please feel free to mail me; I’d really like to see the source let loose.

  8. Phil says:

    Is there any news reguarding this project? Has anyone taken control, or begun updating? It would be really sad if this would just fall apart. This could probably be one of the most useful tools I would use on my DS. If I’d have knowlege in programming I would love to help. Can you just give a status update please? Thanks

  9. moof says:

    There are a bunch of different ways of releasing your software to be open source without giving up the domain name or anything like that. Sourceforge is still one of the most common places for placing one’s code repository, although github, so I hear, is becoming fairly popular as well. It’s relatively easy to “keep the reins”, IMHO, while still letting others in on the development. (I, too, write code and whatnot for a living.)

    If you have questions about open sourcing, licensing, etc, feel free to email me.

Leave a Reply

