No, I haven’t gone away…

About two months ago, my family and I discovered that we were going to have to move house. This came quite out of the blue. We had been lead to believe that our lease would be renewed for another year, as would be the norm where I live. But then, unexpectedly, the owner decided to put the place on the market – some sort of rearrangement of his personal finances apparently. So with little time to spare we had to find somewhere else to live that wasn’t too far away, and then orchestrate the actual house move itself. We have small children so stuff like this is a bit of a stressful ordeal. And for a while we didn’t even have broadband!!! It has only been in the last couple of weeks that things have finally calmed down as we have started to find our feet in the new place. It has actually worked out well as it turns out, because we now have a much bigger house, on a nicer street, at a much lower rent!

Anyway, why am I tell you all this? Because, obviously, with all of this going on in my private life, I haven’t exactly been focussed on DSmaps for the last couple of months. That’s just the way it is when the person behind a home project has a very busy home life! The move has affected my day job too and I’m having to make up for that during the evenings. I can’t really apologise for it I’m afraid!

But suffice it to say that I haven’t abandoned you. My wife is my biggest (only?) fan and she constantly nags at me to finish the next release. So it will get done – my domestic happiness and sanity depends on it!

26 Responses to No, I haven’t gone away…

  1. kassanmoor says:

    Great announce, I am waiting next release.

  2. Elgamblo says:

    No, your wife isn’t your only fan. I’m really looking forward to downloading map tiles before running the app on my DS 🙂

    Greetings from Germany

  3. Reinaldo says:

    Great!

    I thought that you had abandoned us already!

    That’s Big and happy news then. I hope Everything is fine with you.

    The next release will be so welcome for everybody that it crush the IPhone 3G news into bits! or maybe not… ehehehe

    Keeps the great work man.

    Greetings from Brazil

  4. Phil says:

    Thanks for the update!
    I’m a big fan too so your wife’s not alone.
    Just keep up the good work, I’ll be waiting!

  5. Ricardo says:

    Hey, you have a big fan in Brazil… love DS maps…
    keep the good work…

    one suggestion… make the next version able to work offline, with the downloaded maps…

    thanks again

  6. C@illou says:

    keep goin, I love your application 🙂

  7. ssc4k says:

    any way this could be made into an online version for the ds opera browser? i just tried google maps but you need flash to get the maps interactive. i was thinking that another api could be used to use javascript for navigation (javascript is supported in the ds browser)

  8. Rad says:

    Its programmers like you that are the real American heroes!
    Balancing bland real life with the fast paced super action of the computer world.

    Also, great app. Its saved me quite a few times now!

  9. DMC says:

    @Rad – thanks for that! For the record though, I’m not American – I’m Irish.

  10. Gvaz says:

    That’s good to hear, I can’t wait for the next release 🙂 (well I can, I’m just saying)

  11. newbie says:

    I also love dsmaps, its awesome. can’t wait till next release

  12. DJF says:

    Just found your ap. Brilliant! It just works fantastically well – particularly the way it caches the tiles. Can’t wait for the next release.

    Don’t give up now!!

  13. Toriff says:

    Just showing my support for developments on this great app.

  14. Eelco says:

    Good to hear you’re doing fine in your new home. Keep up the good work!

  15. newbian says:

    Hey DMC, thanks for the great application! I found it very useful once to show my friends directions, and plus, it’s a great software to impress people!

    This blogger figured out a way of downloading gmap tiles and converting them into dsmaps-friendly images. I’m not able to download the script he wrote, but it seems very interesting.

    http://imsancho.blogspot.com/2008/04/gmaps-to-dsmaps-converter.html

  16. Shining says:

    cant wait for the next release, your wife’s not your only fan =D awesome program, keep up the good work!

  17. Phil says:

    Hi Everybody,

    I was wondering if anybody can give me some help getting DSMaps working on my DS. If possible, I’m looking for step-by-step instructions on how to do it. I don’t know why I can’t get it to work.

    I have a DSTT flash card with a microSD. I’m running Moonshell on the card. I’ve saved DSOrganize on it because I thought I read somewhere on this site that you need that to. I saved a DLDI file into both my Maps folder and DSOrganize folder on my DSTT card. I don’t know if I’m “patching” the DLDI file correctly.

    When I’m in DSOrganizer and click on DSmaps.nds this is the message I get:

    “You haven’t patched DSOrganize with any DLDI file. The Chishm loader requires you to have a DLDI patched DSOrganizer or a dldi file in your resources directory”

    Okay, so what do I do?

  18. Phil says:

    I forgot to mention that I tried using the Dlms3.dldi and Dlms_moon.dldi files with no success. Again, I might not be patching them properly (because I don’t know how to do that).

    Help 🙂

  19. Phil says:

    Hey, just wondering if you could give us an update on the timeline of the next release. I’m really looking forward to it!

  20. Chris says:

    He’s not coming back… He’s left us alone on the internet.

    He should release the source code

  21. Reinaldo says:

    are you sure? ehehehe

  22. Jercos says:

    heh, I’d love a source-code release. for one, I’d like to see this being able to pull the satellite photo tiles from google maps too, then it’d sorta be like google earth ds…

  23. newbian says:

    Hey Phil, try this link: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=44505

    It should be pretty straightforward. You would usually patch your .nds file by something called a command prompt. It’s in Start>All Programs>Accessories>Command Prompt

    The instructions should come with the dldi tool file. Good luck!

  24. Phil says:

    We need an update on the status of the project! Are you still there?, this was looking so promising. Can you just tell us if you still have plans to continue this?

  25. IMSancho says:

    Sorry, didn’t realise the download link had broken on my blog post, I’ve fixed it up as well as the one for compositing the satellite images so they should work now.

  26. gordo says:

    yo…i am writing this from my ds using ds organize.
    is there a way to do satellite maps?
    and possiblya search function in the future?

Leave a Reply

